pune

Home Base

“The three most harmful addictions are heroin, carbohydrates, and a monthly salary.”
― Nassim Nicholas Taleb

When there is nowhere to report to at 8am everyday, when there are no deadlines breathing down my back, when a kind, significant other is paying my bills, when a lot of things get knocked off my to-do list, when scrapbooks get done, books get read, coffee shop couches are warmed, I know that I can spin a travel twist on anything I do.

It’s been a great six months of buckling into life in India, re-learning things long forgotten through my travel-tinted glasses. I eased in through the only way I knew how to make it fun – snoop around like a nosy traveler. And no doubt, it has been a riot of happy exploration in this new city!

I start work tomorrow. And once routines and paychecks show up, the location usually becomes home base, not a travel destination. Yet, I don’t want to take off my travel-tinted glasses just yet. There are tons of unexplored crannies in Pune that I haven’t poked around, and I can now only hope that I get some time to look up these homeland charms; like I used to snatch Saturday afternoons last summer in Portland to grab a cup of cold chocolate by the river as a season-long-goodbye-ritual. And yes, I’m quite familiar with the art of scrounging for long weekends :)

“A vacation is what you take when you can no longer take what you’ve been taking.”
― Earl Wilson

It’s time to merge home and travel again. It’s time to belong.

Tracked down a Maharashtrian meal at last!
Tracked down a big Maharashtrian meal at last! About time, in this new place that I’ve started to call home :)

Leave a comment